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History
Missouri Constitution grants the Missouri Department 
of Health and Senior Services (DHSS) the authority and 

responsibility to create a well-regulated program to ensure 
the availability of, and safe access to, medical marijuana.

The Division of Cannabis Regulation was created within 
DHSS to administer the Medical Marijuana Regulatory 
Program (MMRP). Per Article XIV, DHSS is required to 

annually submit a report to the Governor detailing the 
efficient discharge of its duties.

Reported activities herein are based on the MMRP 
program year (PY) of Dec. 1, 2021, through Nov 30, 2022.
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Key Achievements
•	 $380.4 million in cumulative retail product sales;
•	 $13.2 million in taxes deposited into the Missouri Veterans’ Health and Care Fund (Veterans’ Fund);
•	 $18 million transferred to the Missouri Veterans Commission bringing the cumulative amount 

transferred to $26.9 million;
•	 53 Approvals to Operate (ATO) issued, for a total of 354 operating facilities; 89% of licenses issued 

are operational;  
•	 4,206 agent identification cards issued to allow agents to work in medical marijuana facilities.

 What we do 

Our Mission
To administer Missouri’s Medical Marijuana Regulatory Program in alignment with the 
provisions of Article XIV of the Constitution, as determined by the will of the citizens of 
Missouri.

 What we aspire to be

Our Vision Statement
A program that provides safe and secure access to medical marijuana for qualifying Missouri 
patients through consistent regulation, enforcement and education.

 How we plan to get there

Our Strategic Priorities
1.	 Make medical marijuana accessible for qualifying patients in Missouri;
2.	 Uphold safety and quality standards for medical marijuana; and
3.	 Regulate the medical marijuana industry to comply with Missouri law and keep 

communities safe.

Patient Licenses Issued During PY22

New

126,192
Renewed

78,720

Who we are
Our 

Values

Transparency
We are committed to being transparent in our 
processes and accountable for our decisions.

Partnerships
We believe that collaboration with partners 

leads to administrative efficiencies and has a 
positive impact on service delivery.

Evidence Based Practices
We believe that research and analysis informs 
our practices and leads to the most effective 

high quality programs.

Quality of Service
We strive to provide the highest level of quality 

in the delivery of our services.

Executive Summary
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Introduction
This report is the annual accounting to the Governor regarding the discharge of 
responsibilities granted to the DHSS by Article XIV, Section 1 of the Missouri Constitution and 
encompasses activities occurring during the Program Year (PY) of Dec. 1, 2021 – Nov. 30, 2022. 

These activities include:

•	 Receive fees for licenses and certifications;

•	 Approve or deny licenses and certifications; and

•	 Suspend, fine, restrict or revoke licenses and certifications.

Program implementation and growth continued in PY22. During this fourth year, patient, 
patient caregiver, and facility agent populations continued to rise as the program developed 
maturity, and additional licensed facilities began operations after passing their initial 
commencement inspections and receiving their approval to operate. PY22 was the first year 
medical licensed facilities were required to submit a license renewal application. 

During PY22, with almost all licensees approved to operate, DHSS shifted more of its focus and 
resources to enforcing quality standards for medical marijuana through consistent regulation 
of the industry, ensuring compliance with Article XIV and associated rules in order to promote 
safe and secure access for qualifying medical patients.
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The Missouri Veterans’ Health and Care Fund (Veterans’ Fund) was established for receiving all 
fees and taxes collected pursuant to Article XIV. In addition to licensing fees collected by DHSS, 
Article XIV requires a four percent tax on the retail sale of medical marijuana to be submitted 
to the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR). Article XIV permits DOR to retain up to five 
percent of the collected tax for its administration. DOR must deposit the remaining taxes into 
the Fund.

Article XIV also requires that DHSS use the Veterans’ Fund to carry out its responsibilities in 
implementing Section 1 activities and allows a reserve to be held in the Veterans’ Fund in 
order to maintain a reasonable working cash balance for DHSS. Any remaining funds after 
administration and the reserve are to be transferred to the Missouri Veterans Commission.

Administration of the Medical Marijuana Program
The administration of Article XIV Section 1 activities is self-funded, meaning DHSS’ operating 
costs to administer the medical marijuana program are fully funded through fees and taxes. 
DHSS’ operating costs include fixed and variable expenditures. Fixed expenditures include 
costs such as personnel salaries and benefits, as well as contracts to maintain the licensing 
registry and the constitutionally required track and trace system. Variable expenditures 
also include costs such as maintaining supplies and equipment, travel to inspect facilities, 
and defense of licensure, suspension and revocation appeals. The legislature appropriates 
a budget for each state fiscal year (FY) cycle, which runs July 1 through June 30. The tables 
below detail the legislatively appropriated budgets and the amount of budget expended 
during each fiscal year since program establishment in FY19.

Figure 1 details the administration of Article XIV Section 1 activities, while Figure 2 details 
the transfer to the Veterans Commission. During PY22, DHSS transferred $18.0 million to the 
Missouri Veterans Commission, bringing the cumulative amount transferred to $26.9 million.

Figure 1: Medical Marijuana Program Administration: DHSS Appropriated Budget 
and Expenditures

 
Notes: Appropriations are the annual mechanisms which authorize departments to utilize funds, and 
departments cannot exceed their appropriated amount. FY23 amounts are current as of November 30, 2022. 
Please note that fiscal year dates are different than the program year dates.

Missouri Veterans’ Health 
and Care Fund

Fiscal Year  
 (July 1 - June 30)

MMRP 
Appropriated 

Budget

MMRP 
Expended 

Budget

Veterans’ 
Fund Ending 

Balance

FY19 $3,161,975 $585,014 $3,291,266

FY20 $13,311,557 $6,276,380 $17,535,778

FY21 $13,543,316 $9,393,434 $17,750,378

FY22 $13,827,511 $8,408,818 $14,713,640

FY23 $14,071,166 $3,808,009 $16,145,298
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Figure 4: Program Fees, Taxes and DHSS Operating Expenditures

Figure 3: Program Fees and Taxes Deposited Into Veterans’ Fund

Figure 2: Transfer to the Missouri Veterans Commission

Program Revenue
While the fiscal year begins July 1, the majority of revenues for the program are collected during 
December and January in the form of facility annual fees. Every third year, licensees are required to 
also submit renewal fees. PY22 was the first year such fees were paid starting in June with the largest 
amount submitted in September as seen in Figure 3.

This uneven revenue flow results in a need to maintain enough of a reserve balance in the Veterans’ 
Fund each June 30th to cover MMRP’s estimated operating expenses for the first six months of the next 
state fiscal year of July through December. 

Fiscal Year Appropriated 
Transfer Amount

Tax Deposited into 
Veterans’ Fund Collected Fees

Veterans 
Commission 

Transfer Amount

FY19 $0 $0 $3,958,000 $0

FY20 $0 $0 $21,338,720 $0

FY21 $2,135,510 $2,004,425 $11,888,074 $2,135,510

FY22 $11,843,310 $11,398,720 $14,232,466 $11,843,310

FY23 $13,000,000 $5,858,270 $5,751,225 $13,000,000

While Figure 4 shows two months when the monthly expenditures exceeded the monthly amount 
of collected revenues, this increase is due to transferring funds to the Veterans Commission. During 
review of the FY22 supplemental budget, the legislature approved an additional transfer to the Veterans 
Commission which allowed DHSS to transfer $5 million in May 2022. The $13 million appropriated as part 
of the FY23 budget was transferred to the Veterans Commission in September 2022.

Notes: Transfer amounts are comprised of revenues from fees as well as the four percent tax. The first four percent tax was deposited into the 
Fund in March 2021 (FY21), and the first transfer of funds to the Veterans Commission occurred Sept. 2020 (FY21). FY23 tax and fee amounts are 
current as of Nov. 30, 2022. FY21 was the first year the legislature appropriated a transfer to the Veterans Commission. Please note that fiscal 
year dates are different than the program year dates. 
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Fees Structure
Per Article XIV Section 1, certain application and license fees are “...increased or decreased each 
year by the percentage of increase or decrease from the end of the previous calendar year's 
Consumer Price Index, or successor index as published by the U.S. Department of Labor, or its 
successor agency.” This language has been published with the fee schedules since May 2019. 
Annual fee adjustments are effective July 1 to align with Missouri’s state fiscal year.

The Consumer Price Index rose 7% from 2021 to 2022, and the increase was applied to 
application and licensure fees for July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023. 

Figure 5: Medical Marijuana Fee Charts

 

Per Article XIV, some fees are non-refundable. For the refundable fees, most refunds occur due 
to overpayments. Patient, caregiver, and/or patient cultivator application fee overpayments 
occur when applicants select the wrong payment category in the payment portal or double 
pay for patient cultivation when both the patient and the caregiver submit a patient 
cultivation application.

Patient, Caregiver and Patient Cultivator Fees

Fee Type
New Application  

(7/1/2021- 
6/30/2022)

Renewal 
 (7/1/2021- 
6/30/2022)

New 
Application  
(7/1/2022- 
6/30/2023)

Renewal 
 (7/1/2022- 
6/30/2023)

Patient $25.94 $25.94 $27.76 $27.76 

Caregiver $25.94 $25.94 $27.76 $27.76 

Patient Cultivator  $103.73 $103.73 $110.99 $110.99 

Facility Fees

Type
New 

Application    
(7/1/2021- 

6/30/2022)

"Annual  
(7/1/2021- 

6/30/2022)"

"Renewal 
(7/1/2021- 

6/30/2022)"

New 
Application    
(7/1/2022- 
6/30/2023)

"Annual  
(7/1/2022- 

6/30/2023)"

"Renewal  
(7/1/2022- 

6/30/2023)"

Change 
Request Fee $2,074.64 NA  NA  $2,219.86 NA  NA 

Cultivation 
Facility NA  $25,933.05 $5,000.00  NA  $27,748.36 $5,549.67 

Dispensary 
Facility NA  $10,230.00  $3,000.00  NA  $11,099.35 $3,329.81 

Facility  
Agent $77.80 NA  $77.80 $83.25 NA  $83.25 

Laboratory 
Testing NA  $5,000.00  $5,000.00  NA  $5,000.00  $5,000.00 

Manufacturing 
Facility NA  $10,373.22 $3,000.00  NA  $11,099.35 $3,329.81 

Seed to Sale $5,000.00 $5,000.00 NA  $5,000.00 $5,000.00 NA 

Transportation $5,000.00 $5,000.00 $5,000.00  $5,000.00 $5,000.00 $5,000.00 
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Agent ID Cards

Certain owners, managers, operators, and employees are required by rule to obtain an agent 
identification (ID) card in order to be in and around medical marijuana. Agent ID cards are a 
3-year license. 

Figure 6: Agent ID Cards: Program Year Comparisons

In PY22, the number of agent ID application submissions decreased by 18.4% from PY21 as 
employment opportunities stabilized in the medical marijuana industry.   DHSS received 
an average of 349 agent applications per month, and 95.8% of agent applications were 
approved. Article XIV and associated rules require that DHSS approve or deny facility agent ID 
applications within 14 days of receiving a complete application. On average, DHSS processed 
agent ID applications within ten days.

Figure 7: Agent ID Cards: Counts By Month

* Includes applications submitted near the end of 
the previous month that were issued a license.

Active license counts are captured on or near the 
last day of the month and are current as of the date 
of capture.

Licenses and Certifications

Month Applications Issued Active

2021-12 349 335 6,213

2022-01 400 396 6,608

2022-02 464 424 7,032

2022-03 493 464 7,497

2022-04 368 356 7,853

2022-05 376 363 8,216

2022-06 363 344 8,571

2022-07 282 *326 8,800

2022-08 399 383 9,269

2022-09 295 269 9,539

2022-10 309 282 9,838

2022-11 289 264 10,101

Applications Cards Issued

PY19 PY20 PY21 PY22 TOTAL PY19 PY20 PY21 PY22 TOTAL 

NA 1,005 5,196 4,387 10,588 NA 934 4,979 4,206 10,119
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Patient and Caregiver Registry
In PY22, DHSS continued to meet the constitutional requirement of processing patient 
applications within 30 days from the date of submission, processing over 235,000 applications, 
compared to over 193,000 applications received during PY21, representing a 22.7% growth 
in submissions across all application types. DHSS improved the cloud-based call center 
management system for receiving patient and public inquiries, created new patient related 
website content, and designed and implemented enhancements to the online registry 
system. At the close of PY22, there were 563 physicians actively registered and verified to 
submit electronic Physician Certification Forms within the patient registry system. This 
surpasses the number of participating physicians prior to implementation of the electronic 
physician certification process.

Figure 8: Patient and Caregiver ID Cards: Comparisons by Program Year

   

Applications Received  Cards Issued 

Type PY19 PY20 PY21 PY22 TOTAL PY19 PY20 PY21 PY22 TOTAL 

New  
Patient 24,027 64,485 122,274 130,086 340,872 22,706 56,448 119,894 126,192 325,240

Patient 
Renewal NA 14,050 38,757 78,706 131,513 NA 12,062 38,347 78,720 129,129

New 
Caregiver 673 2,479 3,378 2,613 9,143 563 2,019 2,634 2,220 7,436

Caregiver 
Renewal NA 312 736 1,033 2,081 NA 255 720 974 1,949

New Patient 
Cultivation 8,239 14,633 15,848 9,430 39,911 7,276 8,703 15,398 9,302 40,679

Patient 
Cultivation 
Renewal NA 6,157 12,976 15,529 34,662 NA 5,486 12,713 15,391 33,590



8

Figure 9: Average Monthly Application Submissions: 
Comparison by Program Year

There was significant growth in patient application submissions following the start of retail 
sales in late PY20. Patient application submissions increased by 69.9% in PY21, and slowed to 
24.2% growth in PY22.

Figure 10: Patient and Caregiver ID Cards in Active Status

Type PY20 PY21 PY22

New Patient 5,374 9,991 10,841

Patient Renewal 1,982 3,196 6,559

New Caregiver 207 220 218

Caregiver Renewal 52 60 86

New Patient Cultivation 1,219 1,283 786

Patient Cultivation 
Renewal 513 1,059 1,294

Total 9,549 16,224 20,150

Note: Active license counts are captured on or near the last 
day of the month and are current as of the date of capture. 

Month Patient Caregiver Patient Cultivation

2021-12 161,264 3,269 28,082

2022-01 166,306 3,268 28,082

2022-02 171,060 3,240 28,089

2022-03 177,706 3,214 28,279

2022-04 181,978 3,207 28,107

2022-05 184,407 3,147 27,622

2022-06 187,018 3,094 27,520

2022-07 190,501 3,017 26,887

2022-08 197,690 3,015 26,808

2022-09 202,874 3,009 26,635

2022-10 204,985 2,957 26,174

2022-11 205,897 2,910 25,627
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Figure 11: Patient and Caregiver ID Cards Issued: Counts by Month and  
Application Type

 
Figure 12: Patient and Caregiver Active ID Card Totals: PY19 through PY22

Month
New 

Patient
Patient 

Renewals
New 

Caregiver
Caregiver 
Renewals

Patient 
Cultivation

Patient 
Cultivation 
Renewals

2021-12 10,880 4,602 198 92 937 1,223

2022-01 9,391 4,528 207 94 778 1,122

2022-02 9,195 4,779 175 77 763 1,077

2022-03 12,648 6,395 229 67 1,167 1,313

2022-04 11,797 6,376 210 61 949 1,155

2022-05 11,989 6,490 189 98 851 1,243

2022-06 10,409 7,338 177 84 749 1,484

2022-07 10,377 6,983 175 89 704 1,483

2022-08 13,479 8,609 206 94 850 1,782

2022-09 10,983 7,803 177 80 664 1,372

2022-10 8,956 7,222 152 70 485 1,213

2022-11 6,088 7,595 125 68 405 924
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Figure 13 shows that only 1% of participating patients opt to have a caregiver, a decrease from PY21 
when it was 2%. 

By rule, patients can apply to cultivate marijuana or have their caregiver apply to cultivate marijuana 
on their behalf. During PY22, the percent of patients who cultivated or accessed cultivation through a 
caregiver decreased to 12%. For comparison, PY20 was the high trend of 27.9%.  Figure 14 depicts the 12% 
of active patients who cultivate or access cultivation through a caregiver.

Figure 13: Active Patients and Caregivers 

Figure 14: Active Patients and Caregivers Who Cultivated in PY22



11

Figure 15: Active Patients by Qualifying Medical Condition

Figure 15 illustrates that 48% of active patients reported physical/psychological dependence as 
their qualifying medical condition.
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Figure 16: Percent of Active Patients (By Age)

Figure 17: Number of Active Patients by County of Residence (PY22)

Figure 16 shows that the majority of patients are in the 30 – 39 age group. The number of patients in the 
18-29 age group almost doubled since the program began.

  

Patient Population Legend
10,000 and over
4,000 - 9,999
1,500 - 3,999
1,000 - 1,499
500 - 999
250 - 499
101 - 249
100 and under



13

DHSS call center inquiries are handled by the team that is also responsible for the processing 
of patient and caregiver applications. During PY22, th number of inquiries increased by 31,000 
over PY21. Of this, 64% were handled through the Interactive Voice Response (IVR) feature of 
five menu options that play recordings giving standard information in response to frequently 
asked questions.

During PY22, DHSS received and responded on average to 5,762 emails and 5,436 calls per 
month. DHSS continues to process applications according to constitutionally prescribed 
deadlines while simultaneously responding to a high volume of call and email inquiries.

Article XIV and associated rules require that DHSS approve or deny applications for patient 
and caregiver ID cards within 30 days of receiving a complete application. On average, DHSS 
processed patient applications within 14 days and caregiver applications within 11 days.

Figure 18 highlights the volume of applications, calls, and emails received each month for 
PY22. 

Figure 18: Patient and Caregiver Applications, Calls and Emails Received (PY22)
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In 2022, DHSS regulated the following types of medical marijuana facilities: cultivation, 
dispensary, manufacturing, transportation, testing, and seed-to-sale. DHSS continues to 
accept applications for transportation and seed-to-sale certifications; however, all other facility 
license types are not open. Any new medical marijuana cultivation, manufacturing, dispensary, 
and testing licenses issued in PY22 are from previously denied applications and awarded 
through agreements in the appeals process 

DHSS awarded 30 new medical marijuana licenses in PY22 and approved 53 medical 
marijuana facilities to operate. By the end of PY22, the majority of the medical marijuana 
facility licensees were approved to operate after completing the commencement inspection 
process per 19 CSR 30-95.040(5)(B).

Figure 19: New Licenses Awarded (PY22)

 

A continuing regulatory priority for DHSS is to verify that each new facility licensee complies 
with the minimum standards for licensure outlined in Article XIV and 19 CSR 30-95. Once 
a Minimum Standards review is complete, facilities may either submit a business change 
request or proceed through the commencement inspection process to receive an approval to 
operate. For business change requests, 19 CSR 30-95.040(4)(C) states all licensed or certified 
cultivation, dispensary, manufacturing, testing, and transportation facilities must seek and 
obtain DHSS approval before they may:

•	 Assign, sell, give, lease, sublicense or otherwise transfer its license to any other entity;

•	 Make ownership changes greater than 10%;

•	 Materially deviate from the proposed physical design, including location;

•	 Combine licensed facilities at a single location; or

•	 Construct offsite warehouses.

License Type Awarded

Cultivation 7

Dispensary 10

Manufacturing 2

Transportation 3

Seed to Sale 8

Total 30

Facility License Overview
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Figure 20 outlines the quantity and type of business change requests received and completed 
during PY22.

 Figure 20: Business Change Requests Processed

 
 
 

Type Combination Location Material 
Deviation Ownership Grand Total

Cultivation 9 5 21 63 98

Dispensary 1 16 23 187 227

Manufacturing 12 5 22 66 105

Testing 0 3 0 1 4

Transportation 7 2 2 11 22

Total 29 31 68 328 456
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During the commencement inspection process, facilities are to provide all documentation 
necessary to confirm a facility’s operational readiness. Documentation required of each facility 
included documents such as zoning permits, insurance documents, certificate of occupancy, 
standard operating procedures, alarm and surveillance inspection reports, waste plans and 
any other documentation necessary to determine compliance with Article XIV, 19 CSR 30-95 
and local requirements

Figure 21: Approvals to Operate by Facility Type

Facility Type Approval to Operate

Cultivation 10

Dispensary 15

Manufacturing 23

Transportation 5

Total 53

Commencement Inspections
Licensees are expected to request a commencement inspection when they believe 
their facility will, within a month, be ready to begin operations and meet all state and 
local requirements for their facility per 19 CSR 30-95.040(5)(B). Prior to requesting the 
commencement inspection, a facility must:

•	 Complete the Minimum Standards Review;

•	 Have no open Business Change Requests;

•	 Review the Missouri Medical Marijuana Facilities Welcome Meeting presentation; and

•	 If requested, receive approval for an operational deadline variance.
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Facility Operations
Medical marijuana licensees enter data regarding their operations into the statewide track 
and trace system, Metrc. Aggregate data pulled from Metrc is informative for understanding 
the scale of operations in the medical marijuana industry. However, it is important to note that 
this data is time-specific and subject to licensee inventory adjustments, including returns or 
exchanges on medical marijuana products. Updates occur in real-time, so previously reported 
license data for the same period may differ slightly from data reported here.

Packaged Harvests

A “packaged harvest” refers to the amount of product a cultivation facility has available for 
supply after removing waste and bringing it to the desired moisture level. In total, Missouri’s 
cultivators packaged 1,336 thousand pounds (lbs.) of unprocessed medical marijuana with an 
average of 28 thousand lbs. packaged each month.

During PY22, cultivation licensees transferred 69% of their packaged harvests to a dispensary 
or manufacturing facility indicating supply was meeting demand.  Figure 22 compares the 
packaged harvest weight with the transferred harvest weight in pounds (lbs).

Figure 22: Monthly Packaged Harvest Weight (lbs) (Supply) vs. Transferred Harvest 
Weight (lbs) (Demand)
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Retail Product Sales
In PY22, dispensaries sold $380.4 million worth of retail products to qualified patients and 
caregivers. Bud/flower remained the most popular medical marijuana product type consumed 
by Missouri’s patients, accounting for 49.9% of all sales in PY22. Again in PY22, infused edibles 
were patients’ second most popular product type, followed by concentrates.

Figure 23: Annual Medical Marijuana Sales ($) (%)
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DHSS has the authority to suspend, fine, restrict or revoke licenses and certifications for violations of 
rule and Article XIV. These penalties are found in the regulations on the DHSS website.

Patient, Caregiver and Cultivation Enforcement 
DHSS receives complaints from law enforcement and the public on individuals suspected 
of violating Article XIV or 19 CSR 30-95. DHSS reviews each complaint, which may result in 
the revocation of a patient, caregiver or patient/caregiver cultivator license. DHSS received 
35 patient complaints in PY22, with unauthorized access to marijuana as the top complaint. 
Unauthorized access means DHSS received a complaint on an individual in possession of 
medical marijuana, but the individual did not have a valid patient card. DHSS does not have 
authority over individuals who do not hold a patient, caregiver or cultivation card issued by the 
department.

Facility License Enforcement
The statewide track and trace system is an important regulatory tool for monitoring patient 
purchase limits and licensee actions to prevent inversion and diversion of marijuana from or to 
the illicit market. Article XIV requires licensees to use the statewide track and trace system for 
medical marijuana inventory from seed, or immature plant stage, to sale or destruction. 

DHSS can initiate investigations in several ways: receiving a complaint, or DHSS staff may 
discover an issue during an inspection or review. In either case, DHSS will determine if an 
investigation is warranted to substantiate the allegations or potential compliance issue. In 
the event an investigation is warranted, DHSS will provide the licensee with a copy of the 
complaint, if there is one, and an opportunity to respond during the investigation.

If DHSS determines, during an inspection or otherwise, that a facility is not in compliance with 
Article XIV or applicable rules and regulations, DHSS may issue an Initial Notice of Violation 
to the licensee explaining how the licensee has violated the rules and what remedial or 
corrective actions the facility is expected to take. Once notified, the licensee is required to 
correct the violations within 15 days. DHSS will then conduct a follow-up inspection within 15 
to 30 days to confirm the facility has corrected the violation(s). The licensee must notify DHSS 
if they believe they need additional time to correct the violation(s), which may be granted for 
good cause.

If the follow-up inspection reveals the licensee has not corrected the violation(s), DHSS will 
issue a Final Notice of Violation to the licensee. The Final Notice of Violation explains how 
the licensee continues to violate the rules and regulations, describes the expected remedial 
or corrective actions the licensee is to take, and notifies the licensee DHSS will suspend its 
license or certification if the specified remedial action is not corrected within 30 days. The 
licensee must notify DHSS if they believe they need additional time to correct the violation(s), 
which DHSS may grant for good cause. If the licensee fails to correct the violation(s) within 30 
days of receiving a Final Notice of Violation, DHSS may suspend the license or certification. At 
this time, the licensee’s facility will be required to cease operations, and the licensee must sign 
a corrective action plan designed to bring the license into compliance. If, at any time, DHSS 
determines a licensee presents an immediate and serious threat to the health and safety of 
the public or the licensee’s agents, DHSS may order the licensee to immediately suspend all or 
a part of its operations until the licensee has eliminated the threat.

DHSS received 123 licensee complaints in PY22 with burglary/attempted burglary as the top 
complaint. DHSS suspended four licenses in response to health and safety concerns. The four 
licenses are now under new ownership, and DHSS is awaiting the licensees’ commencement 
inspection requests prior to beginning operations.

Suspend, Fine, Restrict or Revoke
Licenses and Certifications
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Administrative Hearings
DHSS focuses a majority of its efforts on ensuring that patients, caregivers, agents and 
facilities know and understand what is required for an application to be approved and what is 
required to retain a license that is granted. However, when it becomes necessary to deny an 
application or suspend or revoke a card, license or certification, these actions may be reviewed 
by the State of Missouri Administrative Hearings Commission (“AHC”), per Article XIV.

Per Article XIV of the Missouri Constitution, a denial of license or identification card may be 
appealed to the AHC. The AHC acts as a neutral and independent tribunal to impartially 
review agency decisions. The right to an administrative hearing is contingent on the individual 
or business filing a complaint to the AHC within 30 days of DHSS’ sending its decision to the 
individual or business.

During PY22, the AHC processed 51 appeals due to the denial of a patient, caregiver or agent 
cards. From December 2019 to February 2020, the AHC received 857 appeals from denied 
facility applicants.

 By the end of PY22, there were:

•	 96 cases dismissed (in favor of DHSS), 

•	 15 cases settled (then dismissed),

•	 8 summary decisions granted in favor of DHSS,

•	 4 cases where AHC upheld the denial of license after hearing, and 

•	 2 cases where AHC granted a license after hearing.

 

Cases Filed with the Courts
In addition to appeals of denials before the AHC, state agencies may be sued in circuit court. 
AHC decisions may also be appealed for review by the circuit court. As with all cases that are 
filed with Missouri circuit courts, decisions entered by the lower courts can be appealed up 
to the Court of Appeals or the Supreme Court. Seven court cases were active during PY21 
challenging various aspects of the MMRP or actions taken by DHSS.

Appeal Process for License
Denials
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During PY22, DHSS focused on ensuring that quality standards for medical marijuana were 
maintained through consistent regulation of the industry by ensuring compliance with Article 
XIV and associated rules in order to provide safe and secure access for qualifying medical 
patients.

Key Achievements
•	 $380.4 million in cumulative retail product sales;

•	 $13.2 million in taxes deposited into the Missouri Veterans’ Health and Care Fund 
(Veterans’ Fund);

•	 $18 million transferred to the Missouri Veterans Commission, bringing the cumulative 
amount transferred to $26.9 million;

•	 53 Approvals to Operate (ATO) issued, bringing cumulative number of operating facilities 
to 354 (89%);

•	 4,206 agent identification cards issued to allow individuals to work in medical marijuana 
facilities, bringing the total number of agents working in this new industry to over 10,000.

At the end of PY22, Amendment 3 appeared on the November 8, 2022 General Election 
ballot and passed. Amendment 3 changed some provisions to Article XIV, Section 1 Right to 
Access Medical Marijuana and added a new Section 2 Marijuana Legalization, Regulation, and 
Taxation. These new provisions became effective December 6, 2022. 

New provisions to Section 1 required some license fees to be reduced on December 8, 2022: 
Patient and Caregiver ID card fees were reset to $25, and patient and caregiver ID cards were 
extended from a 1-year license to a 3-year license, Patient Cultivators ID card will be reduced 
from $100 for a 1-year license to $50 for a 3-year license, and Agent ID card fees were reset to 
$75.

In the PY21 Annual Report, DHSS predicted there would be over 200,000 active patients by 
November 30, 2022. At the conclusion of PY22, there were 205,897 active patient licenses, 
bringing Missouri's patient adoption rate to 3.3%. As  noted in the PY21 Annual Report, patient 
adoption refers to the percentage of a state's population who become qualified patients. 

The adult use cannabis market is expected to impact patient adoption. A review of publicly 
available data of other states’ medical programs indicates patient adoption declines following 
the implementation of an adult use cannabis program. Prior to December 6, 2022, individuals 
who wanted to apply for and hold a valid patient ID card were required to be a Missouri 
resident. Amendment 3 removed the residency requirement. Missouri has several border-
states without a regulated cannabis market, and it is anticipated that some residents from 
these states will utilize Missouri’s medical program.  

In the upcoming PY23, DHSS will implement Section 1 changes and the new Section 2 
provisions, which allows licensed medical facilities to request to convert their license into a 
comprehensive license to allow them to participate in both the medical and adult consumer 
markets. Section 2 provisions also require new microbusiness dispensary and microbusiness 
wholesale facility licenses to be offered to qualifying owners. DHSS will monitor how these 
new constitutional provisions impact patients’ ability to access medical marijuana in Missouri.

Conclusion
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