
Title 19—DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SENIOR SERVICES 
Division 100—Division of Cannabis Regulation 

Chapter 1—Marijuana 
 

PROPOSED RULE 
 

19 CSR 100-1.040 Consumers, Qualifying Patients, and Primary Caregivers 

PURPOSE: Under Article XIV, Section 1 of the Missouri Constitution, patients with 
qualifying medical conditions have the right to discuss freely with their physicians 
the possible benefits of medical marijuana use and the right to use medical 
marijuana for treatment under the ethical supervision of a physician or nurse 
practitioner. Additionally, under Article XIV, Section 2 of the Missouri Constitution, 
adults at least twenty-one years of age have the right to access marijuana.  Pursuant 
to the same article, the Department of Health and Senior Services is tasked with 
ensuring patient access to medical marijuana and adult access to marijuana, subject 
to reasonable restrictions. This rule explains how the department will implement 
provisions of Article XIV related to Consumers, Qualifying Patients, and Primary 
Caregivers. 

(1) Consumers. Individuals 21 years of age and older may purchase and possess 
marijuana product in accordance with the rules set forth herein. Consumers may 
obtain authority to cultivate as set forth below. 

(2) Qualifying Patients. Individuals 18 years of age or older and emancipated 
individuals under the age of 18 may obtain a medical marijuana patient identification 
card to purchase and possess medical marijuana product in accordance with the rules 
set forth herein. Non-emancipated individuals under the age of 18 may obtain a 
medical marijuana patient identification card with the written consent of a custodial 
parent or legal guardian.  Qualifying patients, with the exception of non-
emancipated minors, may also obtain authority to cultivate as set forth below. 

(A) Medical marijuana patient identification cards are valid for three (3) years.  
(B) Physician or Nurse Practitioner Certification.  

1. All qualifying patients must have a physician or nurse practitioner 
certification confirming the qualifying patient has at least one qualifying medical 
condition.   

2. A physician or nurse practitioner certification is required for all new and 
renewal patient applications.   

3. The physician or nurse practitioner certification must be submitted within a 
new or renewal patient application, and the signature date on the certification must 
be less than 30 days old on the application’s submission date.   

Jill.Quick
Received



(C) Qualifying Patient Responsibilities.  
1. No qualifying patient shall smoke marijuana product for medical use in a 

public place, unless provided by law.   
2. No qualifying patient who is under the care of a primary caregiver may serve 

as the primary caregiver for another qualifying patient. 
3. If a qualifying patient is no longer entitled to medical marijuana product or 

no longer wishes to hold a medical marijuana identification card, they must notify 
the department within ten (10) days of that change. The department will confirm in 
writing that the qualifying patient has voluntarily surrendered the identification card 
and that the identification card is no longer valid. 

(D) Non-emancipated Qualifying Patients. Individuals under the age of 18 may 
obtain a medical marijuana patient identification card with the written consent of a 
custodial parent or legal guardian. 

1. A physician or nurse practitioner shall not issue a certification for the medical 
use of marijuana product for a non-emancipated qualifying patient without the 
written consent of a parent or legal guardian of the qualifying patient.   

2. The department shall not issue a qualifying patient identification card on 
behalf of a non-emancipated qualifying patient without the written consent of a 
parent or legal guardian of the qualifying patient.  Such card shall be issued to the 
parent or guardian and not directly to the patient.   

3. Only a parent or legal guardian may serve as a primary caregiver for a non-
emancipated qualifying patient.   

4. Only the qualifying patient’s parent or legal guardian who holds a primary 
caregiver identification card shall purchase or possess medical marijuana product for 
a non-emancipated qualifying patient.   

5. A parent or legal guardian who holds a primary caregiver identification card 
shall supervise the administration of medical marijuana product to a non-
emancipated qualifying patient.  
(3) Primary Caregivers.  Individuals 21 years of age or older may obtain a primary 
caregiver identification card which allows them to purchase and possess medical 
marijuana product on behalf of up to six (6) qualifying patients. Primary caregivers 
may also obtain authority to cultivate as set forth below. 

(A) Primary caregiver identification cards are valid for three years. 
(B) Individuals seeking primary caregiver status for non-emancipated qualifying 

patients must be the parent or legal guardian of the qualifying patient. 
(C) Primary Caregiver Responsibilities.   

1. No individual shall serve as the primary caregiver for more than six (6) 
qualifying patients. 

2. No individual shall serve as a primary caregiver for a qualifying patient who 
is already served by two (2) primary caregivers. 



3. If a primary caregiver is no longer entitled to serve as a primary caregiver or 
no longer wishes to hold a primary caregiver identification card, they must notify 
the department within ten (10) days of that change. The department will confirm in 
writing that the primary caregiver has voluntarily surrendered the identification card 
and that the identification card is no longer valid. 

4. Primary caregivers shall provide ethical, safe, and secure access to medical 
marijuana product for the associated patient by way of purchase, possession, 
administration, and cultivation, if applicable.   

(4) Purchase and Possession Limitations.  
(A) Consumers. 

1. Consumers may only purchase up to three (3) ounces of dried, unprocessed 
marijuana product, or its equivalent, in a single transaction. 

2. Consumers may only possess: 
A. In the case of consumers who do not cultivate, up to three (3) ounces of 

dried, unprocessed marijuana product, or its equivalent; or 
B. In the case of consumers who are cultivating marijuana, any supply of 

marijuana cultivated by the consumer in excess of the consumer’s three (3) ounce 
limit must remain in an enclosed, locked facility at a private residence.  

(B) Qualifying Patients and Primary Caregivers. 
1. Absent a certification from a physician or nurse practitioner authorizing 

more, qualifying patients may only purchase, or have purchased on their behalf by 
their primary caregivers, up to six (6) ounces of dried, unprocessed marijuana, or its 
equivalent, per qualifying patient, in a thirty- (30-) day period.   

2. The six (6) ounce purchase limit established in this section shall not apply to 
a qualifying patient with a certification from a physician or nurse practitioner that 
there are compelling reasons why the qualifying patient needs a greater amount than 
the limit established in this section.  

A. In such a case, the physician or nurse practitioner must state in their 
certification what amount the qualifying patient requires, which shall then be that 
patient’s limit.  

B. If the patient’s amount is increased after they receive a qualifying patient 
identification card, the patient must submit a request to the department to increase 
their purchase limit within thirty (30) days of the physician’s or nurse practitioner’s 
signature date. The department shall, within thirty (30) days, either approve or deny 
the request. The increase will not be effective until the department approves the 
request. 

3. Qualifying patients may only possess, or instruct a primary caregiver to 
possess on their behalf: 



A. In the case of qualifying patients who do not cultivate or have medical 
marijuana cultivated on their behalf, up to a sixty- (60-) day supply of dried, 
unprocessed marijuana per qualifying patient, or its equivalent; or  

B. In the case of qualifying patients who are cultivating marijuana for medical 
use or whose primary caregivers are cultivating marijuana on their behalf, up to a 
ninety- (90-) day supply of dried, unprocessed marijuana or its equivalent, so long 
as the supply of medical marijuana product in excess of a sixty- (60-) day supply 
remains in an enclosed, locked facility.  

4. Primary caregivers may possess a separate legal limit for each qualifying 
patient under their care and a separate legal limit for themselves if they are a 
qualifying patient, each of which shall be stored separately for each qualifying 
patient and labeled with the qualifying patient’s name.  

5. Possession of between the legal limit and up to twice the legal limit shall 
subject the possessor to department sanctions, including an administrative penalty 
of up to two hundred dollars ($200) and loss of the possessor’s identification card(s) 
for up to a year. 

(5) Consumer Personal Cultivation, Qualifying Patient Cultivation, and Primary 
Caregiver Cultivation, Generally.    

(A) Except for good cause, any consumer, licensed qualifying patient with the 
exception of non-emancipated qualifying patients, or licensed primary caregiver on 
behalf of a qualifying patient may obtain authorization to cultivate up to six (6) 
flowering marijuana plants, six (6) nonflowering marijuana plants fourteen (14) 
inches tall or more, and six (6) nonflowering plants under fourteen (14) inches tall 
at any given time in a single enclosed, locked facility, subject to the limitations 
below.   

(B) Non-emancipated qualifying patients are not eligible for patient cultivation 
authorization, but a parent or legal guardian who is the primary caregiver may obtain 
authorization to cultivate on behalf of the non-emancipated qualifying patient.   

(C) A qualifying patient may not be authorized for both qualifying patient 
cultivation and consumer personal cultivation at the same time.  

(D) All consumer personal cultivation, qualifying patient, and primary caregiver 
cultivation shall take place in an enclosed, locked facility, as defined in this chapter.   

(E) Nothing in this section shall convey or establish a right to cultivate marijuana 
in a facility where state law or a private contract would otherwise prohibit doing so. 

(F) Consumer personal cultivation, qualifying patient, and primary caregiver 
cultivation shall not take place at a place of business. 



(G) The department shall provide each consumer, qualifying patient, or primary 
caregiver who receives a cultivation authorization with a cultivation authorization 
identification card, which shall be clearly displayed within the enclosed cultivation 
area and in close proximity to the marijuana plants. The authorization shall list the 
name of the consumer, qualifying patient, or primary caregiver who has been 
authorized to cultivate, and the address at which that individual is authorized to 
cultivate marijuana.  

(H) Consumer Personal Cultivation.   
1. All consumer personal cultivation must take place at a private residence.  
2. Up to two (2) consumers, who both hold valid consumer personal cultivation 

identification cards, may grow marijuana at the same private residence. 
3. No more than twelve (12) flowering marijuana plants, twelve (12) 

nonflowering plants fourteen (14) inches tall or more, and twelve (12) nonflowering 
plants under fourteen (14) inches tall may be cultivated by consumers at a single 
private residence, regardless of the number of consumers who live at that private 
residence.  

4. Plants and marijuana produced by the plants in excess of three (3) ounces 
must be kept at a private residence in an enclosed, locked facility. 

5. All cultivated flowering marijuana plants in the possession of a consumer 
shall be clearly labeled with the consumer’s name. 

6. A consumer personal cultivation identification card shall be valid for twelve 
(12) months from its date of issuance and shall be renewable with the submittal of a 
renewal application. 

(I) Qualifying Patient Cultivation. 
1. Up to two (2) qualifying patients, who both hold valid qualifying patient 

cultivation identification cards, may share one (1) enclosed, locked facility.  
2. No more than twelve (12) flowering marijuana plants, twelve (12) 

nonflowering plants fourteen (14) inches tall or more, and twelve (12) nonflowering 
plants under fourteen (14) inches tall may be cultivated in a single enclosed, locked 
facility. 

3. Under no circumstance will a qualifying patient be entitled to cultivate, or 
have cultivated on his or her behalf, more than six (6) flowering marijuana plants. 

4. Only one (1) individual in a patient-caregiver relationship may be authorized 
for cultivation on behalf of the qualifying patient. 

5. All cultivated flowering marijuana plants in the possession of a qualifying 
patient shall be clearly labeled with the qualifying patient’s name.   

6. A patient cultivation identification card shall be valid as long as the 
qualifying patient’s identification card is still valid, up to three (3) years from its 
date of issuance.   



 A. The cultivation application fee will be the same for all cultivation 
applications no matter how much time remains on the validity of the patient’s 
identification card.   

 B. The cultivation identification card shall be renewable by submitting a 
renewal patient cultivation application, as long as the individual has an approved 
renewal patient application. 

(J) Primary Caregiver Cultivation. 
1.  A primary caregiver may cultivate on behalf of more than one (1) qualifying 

patient and may utilize one (1) or more enclosed, locked facilities.  
2. No primary caregiver cultivating marijuana for more than one qualifying  

patient may exceed a total of twenty-four (24) flowering plants, twenty-four (24) 
nonflowering plants fourteen (14) inches tall or more, and twenty-four (24) 
nonflowering plants under fourteen (14) inches tall.   

3. Only one (1) individual in a patient-caregiver relationship may be authorized 
for cultivationon behalf of the qualifying patient.   

4. All cultivated flowering marijuana plants in the possession of a primary 
caregiver shall be clearly labeled with the qualifying patient’s name. 

5. A primary caregiver cultivator who is also authorized as a qualifying patient 
cultivator may grow the plants that belong to them as a qualifying patient cultivator, 
and the plants grown on behalf of their qualifying patient(s) using the same enclosed, 
locked facility. 

6. A primary caregiver cultivator who is also authorized as a consumer personal 
cultivator may not grow the plants that belong to them as an authorized consumer 
personal cultivator and the plants grown on behalf of their qualifying patient(s) using 
the same enclosed, locked facility. 

7. A caregiver cultivation identification card shall be valid as long as the 
primary caregiver’s identification card is still valid, up to three (3) years from its 
date of issuance.   

 A. The cultivation application fee will be the same for all cultivation 
applications no matter how much time remains on the validity of the primary 
caregiver’s identification card.   

 B. The cultivation identification card shall be renewable by submitting a 
renewal caregiver cultivation application, as long as the individual has an 
approved renewal caregiver application. 

(6) Identification Cards.   
(A) Application Requirements. 



1. The department will receive applications for qualifying patient, primary 
caregiver, and cultivation authorization identification cards electronically through a 
department-provided, web-based application system. In the event of application 
system unavailability, the department will arrange to accept applications in an 
alternative, department-provided format and will notify the public of those 
arrangements through its website at http://cannabis.mo.gov.  

A. Qualifying patients and primary caregivers shall obtain identification cards 
from the department, which will include unique, identifying numbers for each 
patient and each caregiver.  

B. A qualifying patient or their primary caregiver(s) who wish to cultivate 
shall also obtain an identification card to cultivate for the exclusive use of that 
qualifying patient, which will include unique, identifying numbers for each 
authorized cultivator.  

C. Consumers who wish to cultivate marijuana shall obtain identification 
cards from the department, which will include unique, identifying numbers for each 
authorized cultivator. 

2. Qualifying Patient Identification Cards. All applications for qualifying 
patient identification cards and renewal of such identification cards shall include at 
least the following information: 

A. The qualifying patient’s name, date of birth, and Social Security number; 
B. The qualifying patient’s residence address and mailing address or, if the 

qualifying patient has no residence or mailing address, an address where the 
qualifying patient can receive mail;  

C. The qualifying patient’s e-mail address; 
D. A statement confirming that: 

(I) One (1) physician or nurse practitioner certification, which is less than 
thirty (30) days old, has been submitted on behalf of the qualifying patient and is 
available for review within the submitted application; and 

(II) If applicable, there are compelling reason(s) why the qualifying patient 
needs a greater amount than six (6) ounces in a thirty- (30-) day period; 

E. A legible copy of the qualifying patient’s photo identification card issued 
by a state or federal government entity; 

F. A clear, color photo of the applicant’s face taken within the prior three (3) 
months; 

G. If the qualifying patient is an emancipated qualifying patient under the age 
of eighteen (18), a certified emancipation order from the issuing court; 

H. If the qualifying patient is a non-emancipated qualifying patient:   
(I) Written consent of a parent or legal guardian who will serve as primary 

caregiver for the qualifying patient,  dated within the previous ninety (90) days; and 
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(II) An attestation that the individual signing the application is the 
qualifying patient’s parent or legal guardian and— 

a. A copy of a birth certificate or  adoption record showing proof of 
relationship as qualifying patient’s parent; or 

b. A copy of documentation establishing legal guardianship;  
I. An attestation that the information provided in the application is true and 

correct;  
J. The signature of the qualifying patient and date the qualifying patient 

signed, or, in the case of a non-emancipated qualifying patient, the signature of the 
parent or legal guardian who completed the qualifying patient application and will 
serve as primary caregiver for the qualifying patient; and 

K. All applicable fees. 
3. Primary Caregiver Identification Cards. All applications for primary 

caregiver identification cards and renewal of such identification cards shall include 
at least the following information: 

A. The primary caregiver’s name, date of birth, and Social Security number; 
B. The primary caregiver’s residence address and mailing address; 
C. The primary caregiver’s e-mail address; 
D. The name and Patient License Number of the qualifying patient for whom 

the applicant seeks to serve as primary caregiver; 
E. A legible copy of the primary caregiver’s photo identification card issued 

by a state or federal government entity; 
F. A clear, color photo of the applicant’s face taken within the prior three (3) 

months; 
G. Except in the case of a non-emancipated qualifying patient, patient 

authorization signed by the qualifying patient who the primary caregiver will serve 
and dated within the previous ninety (90) days;  

H. If the qualifying patient is a non-emancipated qualifying patient, written 
consent of the parent or legal guardian who will serve as the qualifying patient’s 
primary caregiver, dated within the previous ninety (90) days, and— 

(I) A copy of a birth certificate or adoption record showing the primary 
caregiver as the qualifying patient’s parent; or 

(II) A copy of documentation establishing legal guardianship of the primary 
caregiver over the qualifying patient; 

I. An attestation that the information provided in the application is true and 
correct;  

J. The signature of the primary caregiver and date the primary caregiver 
signed; and 

K. All applicable fees. 



4. Cultivation Cards. All applications for consumer personal cultivation 
identification cards, qualifying patient cultivation identification cards, and primary 
caregiver cultivation identification cards and renewal of such cards shall include at 
least the following information: 

A. The applicant’s name, date of birth, and Social Security number; 
B. The applicant’s residence address and mailing address; 
C. A statement that the applicant’s cultivation will take place in Missouri.  
D. The applicant’s email address; 
E. A legible copy of the applicant’s photo identification card issued by a state 

or federal government entity; 
F. A clear, color photo of the applicant’s face taken within the prior three (3) 

months; 
G. The address of the location in which the applicant will cultivate marijuana;  
H. For consumer personal cultivation authorization, attestation that the 

cultivation will be located at a private residence in a single enclosed, locked facility 
that permits access to only the applicant: 

I. For qualifying patient or primary caregiver cultivation authorization, 
attestation that the cultivation will be located in a single enclosed, locked facility 
that permits access to only the qualifying patient and his or her licensed caregiver(s), 
as applicable; 

J. If the cultivation will be by or on behalf of a qualifying patient— 
(I) the qualifying patient’s name and patient license number; and 
(II) the primary caregiver’s name and license number, if applicable. 

K. If a qualifying patient seeks to share an enclosed, locked facility, the name 
and Patient License Number of up to one (1) other qualifying patient with whom the 
cultivation space will be shared; 

L. If a primary caregiver, requesting authorization to cultivate on behalf of a 
qualifying patient, seeks to grow plants for multiple patients in a single enclosed, 
locked facility, the names and patient license numbers of up to five (5) other 
qualifying patients, plus their own name and qualifying patient license number if the 
space is going to be used for their own qualifying patient cultivation and cultivation 
on behalf of their qualifying patient(s); 

M. If a consumer seeks to grow marijuana at the same private residence as 
one (1) other licensed consumer personal cultivator, the name and license numberof 
one (1) other licensed consumer personal cultivator who will be cultivating at that 
private residence; 

N. A statement affirming the applicant’s agreement to immediately make 
available access to the cultivation space upon request from the department. Such 
access will be only for purposes of confirming compliance with this rule and will be 



limited to the enclosed, locked facility and any areas necessary to reach and enter 
the facility on a path of the applicant’s choosing; 

O. An attestation that the information provided in the application is true and 
correct; 

P. The signature of the applicant and date the applicant signed; and 
Q. All applicable fees. 

(B) Application Processes. 
1. The department shall charge a non-refundable fee for marijuana 

identification card applications. 
A. There will be a separate fee for each application to be a qualifying patient, 

each application to be a primary caregiver on behalf of a specific qualifying patient, 
and each application to cultivate marijuana.  

B. Requests for authority to cultivate medical marijuana on behalf of a 
qualifying patient may be made following approval of a qualifying patient or primary 
caregiver identification card.  

 (I) A cultivation authorization will only remain valid as long as the 
qualifying patient or primary caregiver’s identification card is still valid.  

 (II) The fee for an application to cultivate on behalf of a qualifying patient 
will be the same for all applications no matter how much time remains on the validity 
of the patient or caregiver’s identification card at the time of the request for 
cultivation authorization is submitted.  

 (III) The cultivation authorization must be renewed at the time the patient 
or caregiver identification card is renewed.    

C. Current fees, including any adjustments, will be posted on the department’s 
website at http://cannabis.mo.gov.    

2. An application for an identification card will be considered received when 
the department receives a complete application.  A complete application is an 
application that includes all information required by this rule. The department will 
notify an applicant once if an application is incomplete and will specify in that 
notification what information is missing. 

3. Upon receiving a complete application for a qualifying patient identification 
card, primary caregiver identification card, or qualifying patient cultivation 
identification card, the department shall, within thirty (30) days, either approve the 
application or provide a written explanation for its denial.  

A. In the case of qualifying patient and patient cultivation identification cards, 
if the department fails to deny or fails to approve a complete application within thirty 
(30) days, a card will be issued that will be valid for three (3) years and will serve 
all the same functions as would a card issued after application approval.  
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4. If the name or address of a consumer personal cultivator, qualifying patient, 
or primary caregiver changes after an identification card is issued, the consumer, 
qualifying patient, or primary caregiver shall notify the department within fourteen 
(14) calendar days of the change. 

5. Denial. Qualifying patient, primary caregiver, and cultivation identification 
cards may be denied. 

A. If an applicant provides false or misleading information in an application, 
the card for which the applicant is applying will be denied. 

B. If an applicant fails to provide a complete application within fourteen (14) 
calendar days of being notified that an application is incomplete, the card for which 
the applicant is applying will be denied.   

(I) An applicant will be considered notified on the date the department 
sends a written explanation of how the application is incomplete to an e-mail address 
provided by the applicant. 

C. If the department determines there is good cause to do so, an application 
for an identification card may be denied. 

D. If the applicant fails to pay the requisite application fee(s) associated with 
an application, the qualifying patient, primary caregiver, or cultivation 
identification card will be denied.   

E. Any denial shall be issued by the department in writing to the consumer, 
qualifying patient, or primary caregiver, and shall include the specific reasons for 
the denial and the process for requesting review of the department’s decision. 

6. Renewal.  
A. Qualifying patient identification cards are valid for three (3) years from 

their date of issuance and shall be renewable by submitting, prior to expiration by at 
least thirty (30) days but no sooner than sixty (60) days, a new or renewal 
application, which shall include all required information, including a new physician 
certification. 

B. Primary caregiver identification cards are valid for three (3) years from 
their date of issuance and shall be renewable by submitting, prior to expiration by at 
least thirty (30) days but no sooner than sixty (60) days, a new or renewal 
application, which shall include all required information. 

 (I) A qualifying patient with a primary caregiver(s) must renew their 
qualifying patient identification card before the associated primary caregiver 
renewal application(s) will be processed. 

 (II) The approved primary caregiver renewal application will only serve to 
renew the primary caregiver identification card if the associated qualifying patient 
has an approved renewal patient application. 

C. Qualifying patient cultivation and primary caregiver cultivation 
identification cards are valid as long as the qualifying patient’s or primary 



caregiver’s identification card is still valid, up to three (3) years from its date of 
issuance.   

(I) The cultivation identification card shall be renewable by submitting, 
prior to expiration by at least thirty (30) days but no sooner than sixty (60) days, a 
new or renewal patient or caregiver cultivation application.   

(II) The renewal cultivation application shall include all required 
information.   

(III) The application will only serve to renew the cultivation 
identification card if the individual has an approved renewal patient or caregiver 
application.   

D. Consumer cultivation identification cards are valid for one (1) year from 
their date of issuance and shall be renewable by submitting, prior to expiration by at 
least thirty (30) days but no sooner than sixty (60) days, a new or renewal 
application, which shall include all required information.  

(C) Administrative Penalties.  
1. Qualifying patient, primary caregiver, and cultivation identification cards 

may be sanctioned. 
A. If a card holder violates any provision of this chapter, any identification 

cards currently held by that individual may be revoked.  
B. If, after an identification card has been issued,  the Department 

determines that an applicant has failed to provide a complete application including 
requisite application fees, or has provided false or misleading information in the 
application, the Department may revoke the identification card.  

C. If a card holder is found to be in possession of an amount of marijuana 
product between the legal limit applicable to that individual and up to twice the legal 
limit applicable to that individual, they shall be subject to department sanctions, 
including an administrative penalty of up to two hundred dollars ($200) and loss of 
their identification card for up to a year.  

D. If a qualifying patient, primary caregiver, or cultivation card holder 
commits a criminal offense related to distribution of marijuana product, whether or 
not a criminal charge has been filed, any marijuana identification cards currently 
held by that individual shall be revoked.  

E. If a cultivation identification card holder fails to immediately make 
available access to his or her cultivation facility upon request from the department, 
the cultivation identification card shall be revoked. 

F. If a consumer cultivator, qualifying patient, or primary caregiver uses 
combustible gases or other dangerous materials to extract resins from marijuana, the 
individual’s identification card may be subject to department sanctions, including an 
administrative penalty of one thousand dollars ($1000) and loss of their 
identification card for up to one (1) year. 



2. In any case of identification card revocation, the department may notify the 
card holder that it will not accept a new application for the same card type for a 
designated period of time. 

3. Any revocation shall be issued by the department in writing to the consumer 
or qualifying patient or, in the case of a primary caregiver, to the qualifying patient 
and the primary caregiver, and shall include the specific reasons for the revocation 
and the process for requesting review of the department’s decision.  
 

AUTHORITY: Sections 1.3.(1)(b), 1.3.(2), 2.4(1)(b), and 2.4(4) of Article XIV, 
Mo. Const.  Emergency rule filed January 20, 2023, effective February 3, 2023, 
expires August 1, 2023.  Original rule filed January 20, 2023. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will cost state agencies or political subdivisions 
four million, eight hundred twenty-eight thousand, five hundred forty dollars 
($4,828,540) for the first three-year period, and one million, five hundred eighty-
seven thousand, nine hundred twenty-two dollars ($1,587,922) annually thereafter. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities sixty-four million, 
four hundred twenty six thousand, three hundred twenty five ($64,426,325) for the 
first three-year period, and thirty-four million, seven hundred fifty-six thousand, 
six hundred dollars ($34,756,600) annually thereafter. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or 
in opposition to this proposed rule with the Department of Health and Senior 
Services, MMPublicComment@health.mo.gov.  To be considered, comments must 
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri 
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 
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